4 ms·
FYI, you can deactivate your Path account by visiting their website (https://path.com/ https://path.com/), signing in and clicking 'Deactivate' on the 'Settings
by DanI-S 13y ago
FYI, you can deactivate your Path account by visiting their website (https://path.com/ https://path.com/), signing in and clicking 'Deactivate' on the 'Settings' page.
- clauretano 13y agoDeactivating your account just effectively hides your profile. You're only a couple clicks away from having it all restored if you so choose. They seem quite good at finding ways to screw up, surely they can still find a way to do this until they actually remove your data. Contact them via their Desk service portal here http://service.path.com/customer/portal/emails/new http://service.path.com/customer/portal/emails/new and ask them to remove your data after deactivating.
- taude 13y agoNotice that is says "Deactivating your account will remove your content from Path. If you reactivate your account, your content will come back." Not deleting your content, though. I hate that.
- dbpatterson 13y agoIt's also a bald-faced lie. If it removes the content, then there is no way for it to come back.
- Samuel_Michon 13y agoThe wording is slippery and pretty deceptive, but it’s technically correct. “Deactivating your account will remove your content from Path.” The ‘Path’ in the sentence refers to the social network, not the company’s servers.
- pbhjpbhj 13y agohttps://path.com/privacy https://path.com/privacy This privacy policy is a joke. It basically says "we can do anything we like with your data". Under the "What Information Do We Share With Third Parties?" section there are some classic deceptions. This one is great (as in evil genius): >with certain social networking services, if you allow such sharing through our services; // Not consent, allow. As in if you don't actively prevent it we'll do it. >with service providers who are working with us in connection with the operation of our site or our services // We'll sell you out to anyone who we can describe as "working with us". >"in connection with, or during negotiations of, any merger, sale of company assets, financing or acquisition, or in any other situation where personal information may be disclosed or transferred as one of our business assets." So when doing business-y stuff, blah, blah oh yeah and any time we want to use your info as a business asset. They're covering themselves, again, to sell all data to anyone who'll buy it.
- __david__ 13y ago> Not deleting your content, though. I hate that. Why? Having worked on a semi social app last year, deleting a user and all their content was a huge undertaking. Marking them and their content as deleted was simple and had the exact same effect--user and content never get returned from DB queries. Guess which one we implemented? I guess I'm trying to say sites don't (always) do the deactivate thing because of some nefarious scheme to steal your content/identity at a later date. Sometimes it's just a technical call (or lazy programmers, depending on your point of view).
- taude 13y agoI don't really care how hard it is for the company to implement, that's not really my concern. But hoarding my data sucks.