4 ms·
I don't think any GUI move items before a confirmation, so I don't see the link at all.
by HeavyFeather 4y ago
I don't think any GUI move items before a confirmation, so I don't see the link at all.
- eyelidlessness 4y agoThey almost universally do! They move stuff to a designated trash or recycle bin or whatever to stage for final deletion when you commit to it.
- Dylan16807 4y agoWindows, if asking is enabled, will ask before moving into the recycle bin. Once the file is in the recycle bin, it will probably be months before final deletion happens, and windows will not ask before doing so.
- ElectricalUnion 4y agoUnless you happen to start to run low on disk space; at that point, Storage Sense will kick in and start complaining about it - if you enable it without changing standard settings it deletes "trash bin" files every 30d.
- HeavyFeather 4y agoThat's a very liberal way to define "confirmation", especially since modern OSes will delete trashed items on a rolling 30-day basis, without any further action. To rephrase: > mv dir .old-dir && rm -r .old-dir & it's how most GUI desktops “delete” stuff, they just run the two actions separately It's kind of a stretch anyway since the core idea of the command was the final `&`
- bscphil 4y ago> modern OSes will delete trashed items on a rolling 30-day basis, without any further action. Hmm, the best I can find, no OS does this by default although all of them are capable of doing it.