4 ms·
As someone who eats plant based, that is definitely not the case in the US. Gelatin is very easy to avoid. Outside of jello itself, the common desserts that co
by dashundchen 6y ago
As someone who eats plant based, that is definitely not the case in the US. Gelatin is very easy to avoid.
Outside of jello itself, the common desserts that contain it are chewy candies and some mousse type desserts. So canolli, mousse, and flan frequently have gelatin, along with things like Starbursts and some chewing gums, but other than that I have not found it to be a common ingredient.
- taneq 6y agoWeird... In Australia (last I checked at least, maybe it's changed) it's commonly in chocolate, ice cream, and any kind of soft sweet, to the point where it's nigh impossible to get any of the above without it.
- worker767424 6y ago> chocolate Definitely not in anything like a bar of chocolate. > ice cream Oddly, this seems to vary a lot by country. It's rare in the US, though. Guar gum is common, though.
- hjek 6y agoExpert vegan here. No, gelatin is never in plain chocolates, but often added to diced coconut!
- fencepost 6y agoFor chocolates it might be in things with foams or nougat. Definitely in marshmallows.
- worker767424 6y agoAh. chocolates != chocolate Usually nougat uses egg whites so it doesn't need gelatin as a protein. Marshmallows are arguably nougat, though, since they're also sugar bound with protein. Marshmallow cream usually uses egg. All of the major nougat US candy bars I can find use egg and not gelatin. I've seen chocolates with marshmallow in them.
- kevinmchugh 6y agoPeople who keep kosher or halal mostly avoid gelatin, so countries with notable kosher, halal, and vegetarian/vegan populations probably see less gelatin use.
- nicoburns 6y agoThere are very good vegetarian substitutes for gelatine, they're just more expensive. So gelatine content can vary quite widely by market depending on the number of vegetarians. Here in the UK it used to be in a lot more things 20 years ago than it is now.
- jcul 6y agoIn Ireland it would be very rare for me to see it in ice-cream or chocolate, and I'm fairly religious about checking labels. Plenty of sweets / jellies, but these days there are more and more vegan / vegetarian options.
- coliveira 6y agoNot just food, gelatin is also found in shampoos, face masks, cosmetics in general, and all kinds of candy.
- worker767424 6y agoThe theme in the US is things that are chewy and things that are stored cold and need to retain a texture. The common places you might not expect it are sour cream, yogurt, fondant, and some Planters dry-roasted nuts.
- baccheion 6y agoDoes Great Lakes gelatin have the same "random assortment" issue?