4 ms·
I've been eating a small handful of gluten-free licorice daily for the last couple of months.. dang.
by jasonv 6y ago
I've been eating a small handful of gluten-free licorice daily for the last couple of months.. dang.
- copperx 6y agoIs liquorice derived from wheat?
- thaumasiotes 6y agoNo, but the candy has to have some kind of structural element.
- pvaldes 6y agoNot, is from the root of a legume. Anything that substitutes cereal flour by legume flour is gluten free. Same if you just mash the dried root to extract the flavor, instead to eat the candy bar. The problem is that legume flour is normally very toxic in raw, and therefore more complicated to produce. Legumes have a much better reputation than Solanaceae, but they are still able to build some serious chemical weapons. Licorice belongs to the same tribe as Colutea, a genus used to poison mammals. Is the only genus seen as edible in its group if I'm not wrong. I don't know if it can be adulterated.
- jasonv 6y agoMost liqorices use wheat gluten to bind the ingredients into candy.. I was enjoying some rice flour variations.