5 ms·
Haven't people tried this before and Apple shut them down for infringement?
by adium 10y ago
Haven't people tried this before and Apple shut them down for infringement?
- stephenr 10y agoYes. Psystar tried this shit 8 years ago, and lasted all of 18 months: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psystar_Corporation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psystar_Corporation Edit: did some digging on what they're actually aiming to sell. Also, regardless of their copyright/ip infractions against Apple, their marketing staff are taking pretty decent liberties: > Looks like a Mac. Feels like a Mac. From the images shown, it's a HP EliteBook 14". So, it's vaguely silver coloured. From the FAQ: > It's a like-new refurbished HP EliteBook Given that, and matching the specs against what I can find online, it appears to be an 8460p, which from what I can tell, is at least 4 years old.
- oofabz 10y agoPower Computing did it legally 20 years ago, licensing Mac OS, and Apple shut them down too: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Computing_Corporation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Power_Computing_Corporation
- masklinn 10y agoThat could hardly be more different than TFA and Psystar though, it was the official clone program which Jobs terminated, and Apple did not PCC down in the Psystar sense of legally killing them, it bought them out.
- 542458 10y agoEspecially since they're using Apple's trademarks ("A fully-functional Mac"). These folks don't have a snowball's chance in hell.
- joezydeco 10y agoLooks like HP might have something to say as well.
- stephenr 10y agoThey're refurbished HP EliteBook's - the HP badging is legit.