3 ms·
"Permanently deleted" means exactly what it says. Deactivated means that the account is inactive but the data is still there. When you delete your account the
by evgen 11y ago
"Permanently deleted" means exactly what it says. Deactivated means that the account is inactive but the data is still there. When you delete your account the data is gone within 14 days, no options for recovery; it happens in bulk and with a bit of a grace period for 'buyers remorse' so it is somewhere in the tail end of that 14 day period. And yes, Facebook has publicly stated their deletion process on multiple occasions and has explanations of how it works in online help docs and FAQs that you just choose to ignore.
- chinathrow 11y agoWow, is that an official FB statement? I need to make a copy of that :) Thanks for your insights, much appreciated!
- TranceMan 11y agoHe did reference the online help / FAQ: https://www.facebook.com/help/359046244166395/ https://www.facebook.com/help/359046244166395/
- junto 11y agoFB isn't exactly good at trust when it comes to its users. The whole business is about extracting value from its user base as an asset. Companies normally don't like throwing away assets if they can help it. Until I see evidence to the contrary, I will assume that FB doesn't delete user data completely. That is just my preference based on the evidence of FB's previous actions. Others can believe what they will. I don't trust the online help docs or FAQs as far as I can throw them. FB has made a business out of abusing user privacy. Zuck: Yeah so if you ever need info about anyone at Harvard Zuck: Just ask Zuck: I have over 4,000 emails, pictures, addresses, SNS [Redacted Friend's Name]: What? How'd you manage that one? Zuck: People just submitted it. Zuck: I don't know why. Zuck: They "trust me" Zuck: Dumb fucks Finally, as programmers, we all know how hard it is to remove elements such as a user from a graph. A user is key element of FB. It is challenging to remove a user, since they have a multitude of cross-related information, linked to other users and other user content. Either you delete the user logically and then hide their linked content, or you delete the user physically, but first delete all of the linked content, or you replace the user with a 'deleted user profile' and hide their linked content. Any other ways? FB obviously hadn't done this back in 2010 [1] and maybe they have been trying hard to fix this issue, but I'd welcome an official post from FB tech team that states how they went about implementing this feature. Maybe a bit of transparency would go a long way in helping the more paranoid of us to think twice about FB. [1] http://www.zdnet.com/article/facebook-does-not-erase-user-deleted-content/ http://www.zdnet.com/article/facebook-does-not-erase-user-de...
- rimantas 11y ago> Finally, as programmers, we all know how hard it is to > remove elements such as a user from a graph. Yet blocked users do disappear from the graph.