3 ms·
> Always allow your users to close their account. This should remove all information about them from your service to the extent possible without disrupting the
by Frozenlock 12y ago
> Always allow your users to close their account. This should remove all information about them from your service to the extent possible without disrupting the integrity of other information.
I think this would be much better if it answered the question "Why?"
- vonklaus 12y agoThis is pretty obvious from the user perspective and from the site runners perspective, something you do not want. Obviously a user who closes their account want to make aure their information is safegaurded and no longer used. This is especially salient now that Facebook own user data like pictures and can profit not only from information, buy sellig photos and other user-contributed things as assets to be used for commercial purposes. From the site owners perspective, they want the data. Maybe they sell it, or maybe they want to provide a nice user experience. Welcome back user, here is all of your information, we kept it for you so it is not lost. Thanks for rejoining. In the end, it really depends on what kind of site and what kind of users you have. Sites will prob not choose to delete all the information they have, much to some of their users dismay.