3 ms·
Has Craigslist been hacked?
Removed the link to Craigslist.org so that people wouldn't accidentally click through to a site (we've now verified) is hacked.
- mikecarroll 12y agoMaybe somebody hijacked their DNS?
- marcinx27 12y agoA whois on craigslist.org shows that it was updated today.
- mikecarroll 12y agoI have a feeling the lesson at the end of this is going to involve setting longer TTLs.
- Hackman21 12y agoThat's a tough one, because in the event of a hijacked domain like this, a lower TTL would also force the "good" settings back faster.
- marcinx27 12y agoI saw this, too. If you can get a little deeper into cl, ex. boston.cragislist.org/i/apartments or boston.craigslist.org/search/aap, you get a Microsoft Frontpage site with the title "digital gangster for life".
- mikecarroll 12y agoIt's struggling to load though -- I don't think the hacker was anywhere near ready for Craigslist levels of traffic.
- general_failure 12y agoYup, hacked.
- qhoc 12y agohttp://craigslist.com http://craigslist.com also doesn't work. Wow this is trouble for sure.
- Hackman21 12y agoLooks like it is redirecting to "digitalgangster(dot)com) -- Also, DNS shows registrant as "Registrant Name: Steven wynhoff @LulzClerk"
- cmthornton 12y agoPlease change the link to this discussion rather than linking directly to a server that seems to be compromised.
- deleted 12y ago[deleted]
- mikecarroll 12y agoYeah, fair point. It was a legitimate question when I posted this -- the page wasn't loading and some weird text was appearing at the bottom. Not sure there's a way to remove the link on HN and just make this a discussion, otherwise I would do so.
- moepstar 12y agoRepeat after me: I won't link to sites i suspect being compromised. I won't link to sites i suspect being compromised. I won't link to sites i suspect being compromised. I won't link to sites i suspect being compromised. ...