3 ms·
"The source and destination is always clear. It's to the server and from the server." That's exactly what I mean by not clear: to the server and from the serve
by Aardwolf 12y ago
"The source and destination is always clear. It's to the server and from the server."
That's exactly what I mean by not clear: to the server and from the server are the exact opposites. So if something is not present on one side, it can do two things to make both sides equal: it can delete it from the one side, or it can copy it to the other side. If all it has is a "sync" button, not a "sync to server" or "sync from server" button, it's not clear what it will do.
Something that deletes files shouldn't be called sync, but should clearly be marked as a delete operation. And deleting something from one location should not have the surprise effect of deleting it on other locations too, unless it's called "remove everywhere".
- JoeAltmaier 12y agoFile sync with multiple devices is fraught with danger. Remember the old 'briefcase' on the Windows desktop? There's just no way to distinguish 'I don't want this file on this device' from "I don't want this file on any device'".
- icebraining 12y agoIn Dropbox, it's very simple: the former is simply not supported at all. Your file should be in all devices or none (mobile excepted).
- bruceboughton 12y agoNo, they have Selective Sync.
- icebraining 12y agoThat's at the folder level, not file level.
- bruceboughton 12y agoTrue, but it does put lie to: >> Your file should be in all devices or none
- icebraining 12y agoif something is not present on one side, it can do two things to make both sides equal: it can delete it from the one side, or it can copy it to the other side. If all it has is a "sync" button, not a "sync to server" or "sync from server" button, it's not clear what it will do. It's only not clear because you're using "sync" in an abstract sense. In Dropbox, it is clear: if the side had the file and it disappeared, it's considered a deletion. If it never had it, it's assumed it should receive a copy. There's no ambiguity in the context of Dropbox, even if there is in the term "sync" generally. Something that deletes files shouldn't be called sync, but should clearly be marked as a delete operation. Why? A deletion is just another action comparable to adding a file, moving it, etc. Sure it may lose data, but if you edit a file, replace the contents and copy it to the other side with overwrite, it can lose data too. That's why Dropbox provides a 30-day backup feature.