4 ms·
Ask HN: Who runs News.YCombinator.net and hackerne.ws?
These sites seem to be exact mirrors of this site. I got distracted during a google search and logged onto one thinking it was this site. I quickly freaked out and changed my password but I would like to know their relationship with this site. A phishing scam, or something innocent?
http://news.ycombinator.net/
http://hackerne.ws/
- bkrausz 17y agoyc.net seems to be registered by PG and pointing to the same server, though hackerne.ws is a godaddy domain hosted on godaddy servers, which seems a lot sketchier.
- PieSquared 17y agoI think it was a Christmas present to the HN community at some time.
- profquail 17y agoYou can do a DNS lookup on the domains: http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=dnsrec&host=news.ycombinator.net http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=dnsrec&host=ne... http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=dnsrec&host=hackerne.ws http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=dnsrec&host=ha... Compare it with the real HN domain (news.ycombinator.com): http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=dnsrec&host=news.ycombinator.com http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=dnsrec&host=ne... I dunno about hackerne.ws, but the ycombinator.com and .net domains look like they've got the same information. Perhaps someone with more DNS experience can do a little more digging. EDIT: Here's the WHOIS info for the contact email (dns@jomax.net) for hackerne.ws: http://who.godaddy.com/whoischeck.aspx?Domain=JOMAX.NET http://who.godaddy.com/whoischeck.aspx?Domain=JOMAX.NET
- staunch 17y agoNothing nefarious going on: http://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=84039 http://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=84039 Previous discussion: http://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=524470 http://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=524470
- joshu 17y agoIt's still nefarious. Websites should not service any hostnames that aren't whitelisted. It's a good way to get linked to and traffic and so on.
- stse 17y agoSecondary domains should use 301 redirect.