2 ms·
Azure is pretty nice, but just a warning for those. If you trial it for the 90 days. If any any time during that trial you go over your allocated "specs" your V
by dubcanada 14y ago
Azure is pretty nice, but just a warning for those. If you trial it for the 90 days. If any any time during that trial you go over your allocated "specs" your VM will be deleted. This does not mean your data is gone, it's just stored as a "disk image" and you can create a new one. But there has been times where the "disk image" became corrupted or something and people lost everything they did during their trial.
Just a note that if you plan on using it, I'd suggest signing up for Pay as you go (you get the trial stuff, but if you go over it doesn't delete your VM, it just charges you).
Another thing that is annoying, on AWS if you turn off your VM it doesn't charge you for cycles. On Azure you need to delete your VM, turing it off still charges you the exact same amount as if you had it on. Something I found really weird.
Overall though Azure control panel is amazing, and the system is very nicely built. Even with the troubles I had (as stated above) I still recommend it to people.
- webwanderings 14y agoAny idea what happens if you do not renew and/or do not delete your free trial account at the end of free trial? Mine is going to run out soon. I signed up only to play around (have no serious need). I have deleted my VMs.
- facorreia 14y agoThey eventually will delete your data. You'll receive plenty warnings by email and you can open a support ticket for assistance at any time.
- jbigelow76 14y agoThey don't "eventually" delete your data, the second the trial is over they delete the instance completely (but it still shows up in your control panel). Trying to switch to a paid subscription won't restore it and their support team can't help either. I got burned by this, I let a trial lapse with a VM that I would have preferred not been nuked, it's totally my fault but from a customer service/goodwill perspective you'd think they would just disable access for a period of time to give you the chance to re-up.