4 ms·
I believe there are settings for both photo tagging and location tagging that allow you to review the tag that a friend makes before it is public.
by brown9-2 14y ago
I believe there are settings for both photo tagging and location tagging that allow you to review the tag that a friend makes before it is public.
- Tipzntrix 14y ago9 Sep 2011 [1] seems to be the date at which they introduced that. I have since set that setting as you recommend, but I was definitely on Facebook before that. I guess the unsettling feeling (combined with this and all the incidents where changing an arcane library of settings is quite often bound to leave an open passage) has just stayed around since then. [1] http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/09/09/the-new-facebook-privacy-_n_955382.html http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/09/09/the-new-facebook-pr... EDIT: Just made a double-check now, guess what? An open passage: Note: You can still be tagged, and tags may appear elsewhere on Facebook. I can't review the tags if they are found on someone else's timeline.
- Semaphor 14y agoIIRC you could completely disable being able to get tagged. I remember vaguely re-enabling tagging after it allowed me to review the tags. > You can still be tagged, and tags may appear elsewhere on Facebook. Not completely sure but I think that applies to text links only which makes sense as you could just link to the profile in question anyway.
- k-mcgrady 14y ago>> "EDIT: Just made a double-check now, guess what? An open passage: Note: You can still be tagged, and tags may appear elsewhere on Facebook. I can't review the tags if they are found on someone else's timeline." I think this changed when they upgraded to timelines. You can approve tags before they appear on your timeline but you will still appear as tagged on the photo which will appear on the person who tagged you's timeline. So you are 'protected' from your friends seeing it but mutual friends and the taggers friends will see it. This is one of a several privacy controls Facebook diluted. I used to be able to say exactly when groups of people could/couldn't post on my wall. This was really useful. Then they changed it to allow me two options - friends (i.e. everyone) or only me. Had to hack together a weaker solution through multiple privacy settings.
- TWAndrews 14y agoYes, and it's pretty surprising that the same mechanism isn't used for group affiliation. The default behavior should be that other people can't release information about you without your approval, whether it's photos, location, group membership, reading habits, etc. This shouldn't be a tough concept for FB.