3 ms·
Based on how everything else works it would be simple enough for the "Save As" to basically "Duplicate and Save." You press it, give it a file name and you how
by pat2man 14y ago
Based on how everything else works it would be simple enough for the "Save As" to basically "Duplicate and Save." You press it, give it a file name and you how have two windows. Don't know why Apple didn't do it this way.
- kalleboo 14y agoThat is how it works now. When he says "it silently saves the original file", he's missing the point that OS X is always saving your files. In Lion/ML, if you create a new file, Save it with a name, and afterwards add some text and then close the window, it doesn't prompt you to "save changes", since it's always saving changes. In a model like that, there's no reason for "Save As" to suddenly not save changes in the original window.
- Schlaefer 14y agoIn ML you can set "Ask to keep changes when closing documents" in the system preferences. Then OS X is not supposed to overwrite your file without your consent, but it does in this case.
- kalleboo 14y agoAh in that case it's definitely a bug.
- jomohke 14y agoIt's not a bug. It overwrites the file by design. The old model was revert-by-default. You had to manually save your changes. The new model is save-by-default. You have to manually revert your changes. In the "File" -> "Revert To..." menu you have multiple options, such as revert to last saved document and revert to last opened document. These persist even after restarting the application. I think the new model is far better design.
- snowwrestler 14y agoDoes it? The linked blog post makes no mention of the preference setting you describe, so the author was probably running without that setting (which is off by default). I'll have to try that when I upgrade to ML next week.
- Schlaefer 14y agoYes, I tested it. Before displaying the Save As dialog for naming your new file a write to the original takes place. They probably just do a copy and rename file operation afterwards. Interesting fact: if you abort the Save As dialog and try to close the original they ask you to "Revert Changes".
- tedivm 14y agoBut it doesn't make enough of a distinction in the metadata to allow you to revert. Ideally the process would be "Duplicate -> Revert Original".
- jkestner 14y agoYou get exactly that when you Duplicate an edited file. Try it.