4 ms·
Question for vegans, are they allowed to eat bread (on account of the yeast)?
by soperj 2y ago
Question for vegans, are they allowed to eat bread (on account of the yeast)?
- shafyy 2y agoAssuming this question comes in good faith (because I had many bad faithed questions of this type, unfortunately): Yes.
- gambiting 2y agoFunnily enough, same question is often asked of devout Muslims, since your average loaf of bread is 1-2% ABV, and the answer is also yes, yes you are.
- soperj 2y agoWhy is the answer yes in that case?
- usrusr 2y agoCulture and chemistry are separate entities.
- gambiting 2y agoBecause leading Islamic scholars have decided it's ok. Just like leading Jewish scholars have decided that even the most orthodox Jews can drink fresh water, even though all water everywhere in the world contains microscopic creusteceans. Religions and belief systems don't have to be perfectly logical(not in the "ah gotcha" scope anyway).
- soulofmischief 2y agoTo be fair, all that does to me is highlight the inconsistency and illogicality of these archaic religious customs, which were rooted in sanitation concerns at a time when no one knew what bacteria was, but have become venerated as part of a global control mechanism by the elite. Every good cult needs a list of low-stakes, illogical rituals, because they serve as nuclei for adherence to higher-stakes illogical beliefs and acts. Unfortunately, science has made it increasingly difficult to justify the absolutism of many of these religious practices, and so somehow these religions skate by by saying, "oh we're just being practical and realistic" even though they continue to stray further from the dogma which defines their religious beliefs. It shows you unequivocally that these religious institutions are more interested in maintaining power than adhering to their own belief systems.
- ornornor 2y agoIt’s not a religion, nothing is allowed or forbidden. But yes, bread is usually part of a vegan diet.