3 ms·
Yes. There are many drinks that are labeled "milk" that don't contain milk proteins, but we now have "animal-free dairy milk", which does. I can absolutely see
by conradev 2y ago
Yes. There are many drinks that are labeled "milk" that don't contain milk proteins, but we now have "animal-free dairy milk", which does. I can absolutely see someone being confused as to whether a given product labeled as milk will trigger their allergies:
https://perfectday.com/blog/why-animal-free-dairy-still-contains-a-milk-allergen/ https://perfectday.com/blog/why-animal-free-dairy-still-cont...
The dairy industry has always fought the FDA on this, arguing that anything besides milk from a cow should not be allowed to be labeled as milk:
https://agfundernews.com/dairy-farmers-urge-fda-to-crack-down-on-animal-free-dairy-milk-labels https://agfundernews.com/dairy-farmers-urge-fda-to-crack-dow...
https://www.nmpf.org/on-almonds-dont-lactate-anniversary-dairy-farmers-call-on-fda-to-do-its-job/ https://www.nmpf.org/on-almonds-dont-lactate-anniversary-dai...
The matrix is big and will only continue to grow: lactose-free milk, animal-free dairy milk, almond milk, oat milk, strawberry milk, etc. Multiply that across milk-derived product analogues like butter and ice-cream and it becomes even more confusing. The meaning on the allergy label is quite specific!