4 ms·
Yes. Oat milk / almond milk / etc doesn't contain "milk". There's a section for both "ingredients" and "contains" on every label, and "contains" specifies if it
by gkoberger 2y ago
Yes. Oat milk / almond milk / etc doesn't contain "milk". There's a section for both "ingredients" and "contains" on every label, and "contains" specifies if it includes "milk" as defined by the FALCPA.
- bobthepanda 2y agoyeah. there was a proposal by big dairy to ban alternative milks from calling themselves "milk" at all, but there was a public outcry about it and it was found to be overstepping, not least because alternative milks have existed for hundreds of years and been called as such.
- dylan604 2y agonow we get into the area of should these products be called milk when they don't have milk. if there's regulations that say a package must list what is inside, shouldn't there also be regulations that say you can't list ingredients that are not inside?
- mrguyorama 2y agoNote that, if the labeling for the "contains" section is accurate, I do not have to give a fuck what some marketing wonk has decided they have to call their product for my safety. THAT's why this isn't about government overreach. The SANCTITY of the labeling is important, so that it can be relied on NO MATTER WHAT
- Ferret7446 2y agoYou really should give yourself more agency. The only person you can rely on is yourself, if for no other reason than mistakes happen (case in point). And then what? Maybe your relatives can sue the company after you died. Fat lot of good that does for you. Please don't blindly trust the labeling and exercise some basic common sense. Do you really want to be in the afterlife, thinking "well, the box didn't say milk, so how could I have known that butter contains milk"?
- bobthepanda 2y agoThe usage of the word “milk” for non dairy products is hundreds of years old. Should peanut butter be allowed to call itself “butter” by that logic?