5 ms·
I wonder whether oak gall ink is vegan. The larvae of the gallflies (actually wasps) that grow in oak galls emerge as adults in early summer, according to the W
by seabass-labrax 2y ago
I wonder whether oak gall ink is vegan. The larvae of the gallflies (actually wasps) that grow in oak galls emerge as adults in early summer, according to the Wildlife Trust, leaving the gall mostly intact. Thus, theoretically, it should be possible to make oak gall ink without harming any animals. It would still be an animal product, but produced only from by-products of a wild animal. But then again, perhaps changes in the chemical composition of the gall throughout the larvae's development make such late-harvested galls unsuitable for ink production.
- grumblepeet 2y agoYou only choose the galls with the hole in the bottom that indicates that the wasp has eaten its way out and gone. It is pretty obvious which ones still have a wasp in them.
- viciousvoxel 2y agoInteresting question. First I'd say veganism isn't a monolith, so opinions will probably differ on the matter. For instance, there is some debate about whether figs are vegan since they are pollinated by fig wasps which then die inside (but are completely absorbed by the fig). I think galls fall into a similar space, but perhaps are less of an issue since they are nominally rid of the insects once they are harvested (though I somehow doubt it can be guaranteed to be completely larvae-free).
- MaxDorkroom 2y ago[flagged]
- mauvehaus 2y agoIf you're writing on parchment, I'd say the veganness of your ink is the least of your concerns.