3 ms·
California has no limit on how far they can go back. California has 4 years from the date you filed your return to issue an assessment. The only exceptions are
by gamblor956 3y ago
California has no limit on how far they can go back.
California has 4 years from the date you filed your return to issue an assessment. The only exceptions are for substantially underreported liability, which is considered fraud, or where a tax return was not filed. In such cases the statute of limitations is indefinite.
The part where you say "mostly W2" indicates that you had a number of non-W2 sources of income, which is probably where the underreporting arose. (A lot of people fail to properly report 1099 income. A lot of crypto traders fail to properly report crypto sales.)