6 ms·
I was a bit surprised when I learned that cheese is not Hallal. (automatically) Rennet can also be sourced from pigs. This was often the case in Norway at some
by ThinkBeat 3y ago
I was a bit surprised when I learned that cheese
is not Hallal. (automatically)
Rennet can also be sourced from pigs.
This was often the case in Norway at some point.
I am not sure when it started.
I believe few places use it now, some smaller
cheese makers might.
- somecommit 3y agoAnd not kosher for the same reason. But even today with 100% artificial rennet there is still a rabinical decret instituting that all cheese are forbidden without supervision.
- Broken_Hippo 3y agoI'm in Norway, and you are correct. Vegetable rennet is more common - well, at least Tine and Synnøve both use it for their cheese products.
- furstenheim 3y agoAnd not vegetation either