6 ms·
> “only two people know how to mix the 7x flavoring ingredient” To what extent are they allowed to keep this a secret? For example, I'm a vegetarian, so presum
by chrisacky 15y ago
> “only two people know how to mix the 7x flavoring ingredient”
To what extent are they allowed to keep this a secret? For example, I'm a vegetarian, so presumably they would have to declare if this secret ingredient contains animal products? (I'm sure it doesn't, it's just an example to portray the point).
And I'm guessing one of the people who knows the secret ingredient is Moe Syzlak?
- y0ghur7_xxx 15y agoI think the secret is how to mix them and in what quantities, not what the ingredients are.
- nknight 15y agohttp://www.fsis.usda.gov/help/faqs_flavorings/index.asp http://www.fsis.usda.gov/help/faqs_flavorings/index.asp
- mbreese 15y agoFrom this page, to directly answer the question: What substances or ingredients can be listed as "natural flavor," "flavor," or "flavorings" rather than by a specific common or usual name? Spices (e.g., black pepper, basil, and ginger), spice extracts, essential oils, oleoresins, onion powder, garlic powder, celery powder, onion juice, and garlic juice are all ingredients that may be declared on labeling as "natural flavor," "flavor," or "flavoring." Spices, oleoresins, essential oils, and spice extracts are listed in the Food and Drug Administration regulations. Can the terms "dried meat or poultry stocks," "dried broth," "meat extracts," and "dried beef plasma" be listed on meat and poultry labels as "natural flavorings"? No. Substances derived from animal sources must be identified as to the species of origin on the label and be consistent with the definition established by Federal regulation. For example, the listing on the label would read "dried chicken stock," "lamb extract," or "dried beef plasma." So, to the original question: vegetarians can rest comfortably knowing that "natural flavors" don't contain meat.
- erikpukinskis 15y agoThis isn't exactly true. They needn't list the "species of origin". They just have to name the substance. They can list things like gelatin, glycerides, lecithin, guanine, and other lesser understood animal products by those obscure names.
- ars 15y agoIt wasn't always vegan. It was reformulated when they got Kosher certification, and incidentally the Rabbi who certifies it also knows what the ingredients are. See: http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Judaism/Kashering_Coke.html http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Judaism/Kasherin...
- monochromatic 15y agoVery cool. This is something it never even occurred to me to wonder about, and here it is asked and answered.
- ars 15y agoIt's not only those two. The Rabbi who provides the Kosher certification for Coke also knows what the ingredients are. See: http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Judaism/Kashering_Coke.html http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Judaism/Kasherin...
- shimon_e 15y agoMaybe he was one of the two? lol Cool story. Always heard parts of it growing up never actually saw it recorded.
- angstrom 15y agoSounds like lore. Won't let them fly on a plane together? I hope they don't ride in the same car to the airport since that's even more dangerous. (see my point?) It's possible only 2 people know it since 3 can't keep a secret. More likely anyone that knows it has signed NDAs on top of which they each know two versions of the same recipe with an indistinguishable flavoring difference due to a minor quantity differences. Either recipe were to get out it's obvious who leaked because the master copy is in the vault. The exact quantities are like a watermark that gives away the leaker. At any rate, if you have golden handcuffs you don't leak due to self preservation anyhow.
- philwelch 15y ago> Won't let them fly on a plane together? That's a common risk management tactic. It's literally in the textbook. Likewise, the Vice President flies on his own plane, Air Force Two, and never Air Force One. When the President and Vice President have to be in the same place at the same time, someone else in the chain of succession has to be kept somewhere else; most dramatically, when the President addresses a joint session of Congress, as in the State of the Union address, one cabinet member is named the "designated successor", is not allowed to attend, and is provided Presidential-level Secret Service protection for the duration.
- cynix 15y agoYou're vegetarian by your own choice. Nobody's required to tell you whether their product contains meat or not.
- chrisacky 15y agoThat's correct. I am a vegetarian by my own choice, but your response stinks of a lack of tolerance or appreciation for other people's choices. I don't know the actual laws when it comes to labelling of food products, but my initial question was more out of curiousity, not one of demanding that people say to the letter what is in their product. I often have to pass up on produce which should be clearly vegetarian because they don't label it with a "Suitable for" notice.
- cynix 15y agoYou said "presumably they would have to declare if this secret ingredient contains animal products" and I was pointing out that they shouldn't "have to", because unlike peanuts which might kill those who are allergic to it, meat won't kill vegetarians.