3 ms·
> And crickets don't comply with Jewish dietary law. If you mean specifically the religious law, then locusts/grasshoppers are the only kind of insect permitte
by selfhoster11 4y ago
> And crickets don't comply with Jewish dietary law.
If you mean specifically the religious law, then locusts/grasshoppers are the only kind of insect permitted to eat (see Leviticus 11:20-23). Ancient prophets consumed them too.
- solatic 4y agoMost modern rabbinical authorities forbid them. Source: https://www.chabad.org/library/article_cdo/aid/4624319/jewish/Why-Are-Grasshoppers-Locusts-Kosher-for-Some-Jews.htm https://www.chabad.org/library/article_cdo/aid/4624319/jewis...
- selfhoster11 4y agoI've read the same article. The fact remains that it's not a blanket ban. If you could figure out which species are kosher and limit production to just these for kosher products, they would be perfectly fine as far as the religious law is concerned.
- solatic 4y ago> If you could figure out which species are kosher Therein lies the crux. How do you figure out which modern-day species were the ones that are referred to in the biblical source? Many religious followers would prefer to act out of an abundance of caution and simply not partake.