4 ms·
Actually they have been ''globalized': They moved from Bonn (as still in the name) a few km across the state border to to Rhineland Palladia. At least that is w
by riedel 4y ago
Actually they have been ''globalized': They moved from Bonn (as still in the name) a few km across the state border to to Rhineland Palladia. At least that is what I saw driving by on the highway. I guess to save taxes.
Another funny thing is that as a vegetarian I realized quite late that this is a meat product (gelantine). It remains the only "meat" I eat kind of regularly because, as mentioned somewhere, they are still the best.
- xwdv 4y agoThat would probably make you a gelatinarian, not a vegetarian.
- JetAlone 4y agoGelatin is a by-product, eating it supports the profitability of animal slaughter. Yet still, there seems to be some distance between eating it and the behaviour of that one guy in Scott Pilgrim who loses his veganchad super powers because "Chicken's not vegan?".
- colordrops 4y agoIt's an animal product, plain and simple. To base ethics on whether the product is in the critical path for profitability doesn't seem much different from vegan chicken eaters.
- xwdv 4y agoNope. If you eat it I don’t think you can really be a vegetarian. You cannot launder food until it becomes vegetarian. If an animal was killed off for you to consume a product, it is not vegetarian and consuming one won’t make you vegetarian. To me it’s no different than “vegetarians” who still indulge in bacon because it happens to be really tasty. It is not too late though to give up gelatin based gummy bears and eat ethically the rest of your life.
- JetAlone 4y agoOr we can choose to reply as sanctimonious radicals. I'm experienced at working that angle too.
- xwdv 4y agoIf someone only wants to be vegetarian when it’s convenient, they should just say that.
- wahnfrieden 4y agoThere are innovations for vegan ones
- tannhaeuser 4y agoSome Haribo products without gelatine/collagen from pig are marked as "halal" for consumption by muslim people.
- user3939382 4y agoSome products have this label due to fish gelatin.
- 0xdada 4y agoThe halal haribo I had last week had beef based gelatin in it, instead of pork (I guess), so this one at least was not vegetarian.
- deleted 4y ago[deleted]
- ajmurmann 4y agoAFAIK it wasn't taxes, but they wanted to expand but weren't able to build the expansion in their Bad Godesberg location, so they moved to the Grafschaft.
- Fnoord 4y agoGelatine is a by-product of pig bone marrow which we have in surplus compared to pig meat consumption. Not one animal more will die when you decide to buy and consume a product containing gelatine. I mean, I respect the goal, but there's better choices to be made. If you want to avoid all products remotely containing pig (by-)product its a tough call. See e.g. book "Pig 05049" by Christien Meindertsma. She also gave a TED talk.
- dkyc 4y agoThe demand for gelatine would contribute to the pig meat revenue stream, offsetting costs and thereby (at least ever so slightly) decreasing the cost of pork, leading (in theory) to increased consumption. Whether that effect is large enough to be noticeable is questionable, and I definitely agree there could be "better choices", but it's not exactly right to say that it has no impact.
- Fnoord 4y agoIf its like with whey, its in such abundance that they pay people to buy it. Either way, the revenue stream would be very little higher because of the huge abundance. You're much better off simply eating less pig meat.