2 ms·
> the only difference is that you don't know if the repository still exists or not. If an admin were to private->delete, then all the stars referencing the rep
by judge2020 5y ago
> the only difference is that you don't know if the repository still exists or not.
If an admin were to private->delete, then all the stars referencing the report would stay and thus the reference to the repo would still be there, on GitHub's servers. There's a difference between GitHub storing things forever and third parties on the internet being a forever archive of visible pages.
- jedberg 5y agoBut that's an easy fix. If they delete the repo, delete the stars. If they make it private, indicate it is now private in some way.
- judge2020 5y agoThat's information disclosure; nothing about the repo after it's privated should be known, including name changes and deletion.