5 ms·
What ingredient in sweets were you allergic to?
by supertofu 5y ago
What ingredient in sweets were you allergic to?
- yakubin 5y agoDepended on the sweets. There was a whole bunch of allergies I don't even remember now. My whole gastrointestinal tract was perpetually sick (since birth), I would visit the hospital basically everyday. Most notably, I couldn't eat chocolate, because I was lactose- and gluten-intolerant. So I couldn't eat any sweets which had any chocolate in them, no sweets which were pastry-based etc. Tangentially, in those times avoiding gluten wasn't as fashionable as it is today, and so there wasn't really any gluten-free bread to buy. My mum would bake bread herself for that purpose, because otherwise I wouldn't even be able to eat bread.
- tasuki 5y ago> I couldn't eat chocolate, because I was lactose- and gluten-intolerant I have to call you out on this, I eat a lot of dark chocolate - it has absolutely no lactose nor gluten. Yes, milk chocolate has lactose, that's kind of in the name. For chocolate to contain gluten it'd have to contain cookies, pretzels, crispy things.
- yakubin 5y agoYes. I was talking about milk chocolate. I didn't even know there was something like "dark chocolate" at that age. Incidentally, now I prefer dark chocolate over milk chocolate by and large. I mentioned gluten not in relation to chocolate, but to other sweets that do contain gluten, but also have chocolate.
- tasuki 5y agoOk fair, I also didn't know there were other types of chocolate when I was little :)