8 ms·
This also happened to me back on Nov 10, 2021. I had an old LastPass account, wasn't using it, when all of a sudden i get an email: -- Login attempt blocked He
by techknight 5y ago
This also happened to me back on Nov 10, 2021. I had an old LastPass account, wasn't using it, when all of a sudden i get an email:
--
Login attempt blocked
Hello,
Someone just used your master password to try to log in to your account from a device or location we didn't recognize. LastPass blocked this attempt, but you should take a closer look.
---
Like you, it told me that the attempt came from Brazil, using an IP address starting with 160. I have no idea how they would've gotten that password. Made me wonder if LastPass had some issue, but nothing was in haveibeenpwned
- gregsadetsky 5y agoWhat, really?? This is too crazy of a coincidence to be a coincidence. This is exactly what's happening to me, and same IP prefix. What does it mean? --- How old of account was this? Can you contact me by email (email in my profile)? --- Two theories: - there is a problem with LastPass - you and I both had the same Chrome extension installed that was actually compromised, and that extension was listening to/sending passwords typed into lastpass.com I last used this account/master password back in 2017. Is that similar-ish to when you used your account?
- dogman123 5y agoposting another comment here too for visibility, but this _just_ happened to me as well.... Time Monday, December 27, 2021 at 1:41 PM EST Location São Paulo, SP 01323, BRAZIL IP address 160.116.88.235
- sillysaurusx 5y agoHmm. So I don't know if this means anything, but I was googling for the IP address and wound up at https://ipinfo.io/160.116.88.235 https://ipinfo.io/160.116.88.235 which says hostname: visit.keznews.com. When you go to that hostname, it's one of the best phishing sites I've ever seen. They dynamically inserted my ISP's logo (Spectrum) and tried to do a phishing attempt: https://i.imgur.com/C9HQw1c.png https://i.imgur.com/C9HQw1c.png The full non-clickable URL: https://us.poonstate.click/us/i/spectrum/?track=u.pslnk.link&key=eyJ0aW1lc3RhbXAiOiIxNjQwNjM4NTIyIiwiaGFzaCI6IjNiZjRkYTg5MTA5MzMzNmU5NjRmMjZiNDY1NWUyN2UwMjk3NzI0OTYifQ%3D%3D&tsid=7ae4766b-0de5-4865-9f1b-025a45c71c3f&bemobdata=c%3D314f53db-f844-46ea-99f8-f277456639d3..l%3Df57d9a37-1c67-4958-ac52-6f4854ce6840..a%3D2..b%3D1..z%3D0.0016..e%3Dzr4b7f4393675711ecb78f122b3efc6f65f31163358f914cea90c49d2c8cc35b7b0612682b8c773fbcf1..c1%3Dwhiskey-oar-eAcMKVvZ..c2%3Dgriseous-trout..c4%3DDOMAIN..c6%3DNON-ADULT..c8%3D1655308..c9%3Dfbb8c5b0-5140-11ec-a217-0aea8b85a94f..c10%3D0# I went through and answered the "questions", and it tried to take me to the actual phishing site: https://i.imgur.com/wYt5WB3.png https://i.imgur.com/wYt5WB3.png https://i.imgur.com/Picaw4a.png https://i.imgur.com/Picaw4a.png Screenshots of the actual phishing site https://i.imgur.com/Bh5c2lZ.png https://i.imgur.com/Bh5c2lZ.png https://i.imgur.com/q7xnSki.png https://i.imgur.com/q7xnSki.png https://i.imgur.com/GX4hWnQ.png https://i.imgur.com/GX4hWnQ.png And its url (non-clickable): https://welcome.myonlineeconomy.com/us/238700/25/?pubid=aff-us&pob=3&click_id=61ca28bcf92ca000011aa4c0&subid=RT-60338e1b79fcbe00012195a3-168&utm_medium=mail&utm_term=ipadpro&terms=y&email=&fname=&lname=&fp=&address=&city=&zip=&state=&lpkeyua=a17666fa4eadface9331c0311b1e8875.1640638952 Now, the interesting part is that this phishing attempt only happened once. When I tried to visit again just now, it just says "something went wrong" (on the first site) and "Access denied" (on the second site). I saved the sites to disk as I went, but I doubt these dumps will tell you much. Just in case though: 1. https://gist.github.com/shawwn/4deace812e7c752949a0df096ef66f3a https://gist.github.com/shawwn/4deace812e7c752949a0df096ef66... 2. https://gist.github.com/shawwn/721f235e760dd2257cd760edb1188ebb https://gist.github.com/shawwn/721f235e760dd2257cd760edb1188... Long story short: It sounds like all of you got phished. I suspect you installed a malicious app that somehow targeted your web browser's LastPass extension, modifying it to send your master password to these fine people. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
- gregsadetsky 5y agoHey, That's quite possible, for sure. I am not beyond/above/below being phished like anyone else, ha! The issue -- what makes it perplexing -- is that I haven't used this LastPass password since 2017. I know because this LastPass account was only used to share passwords within an org that I left back then. Is it possible that I was phished 4 years ago, and they sat on the password? Sure. But 2 other people in this thread being phished from the same exact same phishing server/group? Or we were separately phished using different techniques, and now one Brazil server attempted to use all of our logins? That's what's rather strange.
- trevcanhuman 5y agoI feel like this sounds more like a zero-day exploit being used to target the LastPass login servers.
- wutwutwutwut 5y agoCouldn't it just be that someone got a copy of the password some years ago and now sold the list of credentials to someone else, who then tried to use it? Maybe the original owner of the list didn't realize some of the credentials was for LastPass, for example. I'm still seeing hackers trying to log on using passwords I haven't used in ~10 years, because it's on a list somewhere.
- sillysaurusx 5y agoThis seems likely.
- gregsadetsky 5y agoI agree, that could make sense. So LastPass (their extension) may have been hacked ~5 years ago ish, a few people here on the thread were all hacked in the same way, our passwords were sold off, and now the same Brazil IP range just tried all of those passwords.
- kreetx 5y ago
- ajb 5y agoNot sure it's really in Brazil. LACNIC says the IP range was transferred to AFRINIC. They then say that it is owned by: Affiliated Computing Services (Pty) Ltd descr: P. O. Box 261333 descr: Excom 2023 country: ZA But then further note that ownership is in dispute! We need someone to look it up in the current routing tables to see where it's presently being routed to.
- gregsadetsky 5y agoI also saw that very weird thing -- Brazil vs AFRINIC. Help/insight from ASN? BGP? networking experts would be appreciated..! Thanks a lot
- Godel_unicode 5y agoThat IP is present in a cn record for visit[.]keznews[.]com, whose whois record lists an admin contact in CZ. Be very wary of geo-ip results, on the modern internet they are effectively useless.
- colejohnson66 5y agoIgnoring VPNs, why are they useless?
- wholinator2 5y agoWhy ignore VPNs? Im sure someone else can chime in but to my knowledge that's what makes them useless. You can't be sure someone isn't running VPN, then you can never be certain GeoIP is correct, thus it's useless.
- colejohnson66 5y agoBecause everyone knows that VPN IPs’ geoloc is useless, so I assumed that those were being ignored. Also because it’s possible to see if an IP is (possibly) a VPN one by looking up the owner.
- dharmatva 5y agoI am having the same issue!!! One of my important passwords was leaked and in free use by a bunch of people who were all accessing my evernote account (thankfully it had nothing important in it). I've been on a spree to change my passwords since then. I have been wondering - is this because of the following lastpass bug? https://www.zdnet.com/article/lastpass-bug-leaks-credentials-from-previous-site/ https://www.zdnet.com/article/lastpass-bug-leaks-credentials...
- tim333 5y agoI just tried logging into my LassPass (not used for a while) and I entered the password wrongly (I capitalised one letter) and got an email "Someone just used your master password to try to log in to your account from a device or location we didn't recognize." Maybe it says someone used your master password even if they didn't? It gave the IP as Islington which is kind of correct.
- gregsadetsky 5y agoI think that password case is a separate issue. If I remember correctly, many online services do "secretly" accept mixed cases for the same password (because users make more mistakes than they realize and it would be "annoying" to be too strict) If you didn't receive a "Someone just used" email (with an IP that's completely geographically off from where you are) that's a good sign, of course.
- zdragnar 5y agoI tried pushing back on just such a request once, pointing out it made of of the password "security" requirements pointless (use mixed case letters). "But famous company X does this, it is really convenient for users!" was all the response I got. All I could do at the time was (internally) shake my head.
- johtso 5y agoOh! If the messaging is the same regardless of whether the right password is used then that changes everything!
- gregsadetsky 5y agoWhen a wrong password is used, no email is sent out from my multiple experiments today. I'm happy to be proven wrong, but I think that what's happening with @tim333 is that master passwords may be all lower cased (for example) before being hashed. Or maybe the password is hashed twice with the first letter upper and lower cased. Here's what I found from a quick google re: password case: https://www.zdnet.com/article/facebook-passwords-are-not-case-sensitive-update/ https://www.zdnet.com/article/facebook-passwords-are-not-cas... https://security.stackexchange.com/questions/68013/facebook-password-lowercase-and-uppercase https://security.stackexchange.com/questions/68013/facebook-... "This is simply Facebook trying to provide a better user experience for those users who may have Caps Lock enabled, or whose devices automatically capitalize the first letter of the password."