4 ms·
I can imagine the maintainers being scared of silently breaking the workflow and monitoring for some users. If you change this feature to opt-in, you may silent
by superjan 5y ago
I can imagine the maintainers being scared of silently breaking the workflow and monitoring for some users. If you change this feature to opt-in, you may silently break the alerting system users built on top of this feature, and then you get the heat for breaking a somebody’s IT system(a hospital maybe), just because you hated that feature. That it had an RCE would not be known at the time.
In a perfect world, the feature would have been an option from the start, but in that same perfect world, the downstream users would be diligent and check release notes before upgrading. You might, but many of your colleagues don’t, they just upgrade, and complain when their system breaks.
- whyever 5y agoThat's why you have versioning: removing the feature would be a breaking change and indicated as such.