3 ms·
> chocolate Definitely not in anything like a bar of chocolate. > ice cream Oddly, this seems to vary a lot by country. It's rare in the US, though. Guar gum
by worker767424 6y ago
> chocolate
Definitely not in anything like a bar of chocolate.
> ice cream
Oddly, this seems to vary a lot by country. It's rare in the US, though. Guar gum is common, though.
- hjek 6y agoExpert vegan here. No, gelatin is never in plain chocolates, but often added to diced coconut!
- fencepost 6y agoFor chocolates it might be in things with foams or nougat. Definitely in marshmallows.
- worker767424 6y agoAh. chocolates != chocolate Usually nougat uses egg whites so it doesn't need gelatin as a protein. Marshmallows are arguably nougat, though, since they're also sugar bound with protein. Marshmallow cream usually uses egg. All of the major nougat US candy bars I can find use egg and not gelatin. I've seen chocolates with marshmallow in them.
- kevinmchugh 6y agoPeople who keep kosher or halal mostly avoid gelatin, so countries with notable kosher, halal, and vegetarian/vegan populations probably see less gelatin use.