4 ms·
GDPR rules (which may not apply to you or Discord, not sure) say a company MUST hard delete a user's data upon request. Except if company can claim to need it,
by stef25 6y ago
GDPR rules (which may not apply to you or Discord, not sure) say a company MUST hard delete a user's data upon request. Except if company can claim to need it, like for invoicing / tax reasons. Seems reasonable.
- user3939382 6y agoSo does California state law
- pessimizer 6y agoAre messages that you sent to someone else still your data? If I sent you a letter, a court wouldn't tell you to burn it and any copies on my request.
- foepys 6y agoI'd be with you if each message was end to end encrypted and/or exclusively physically stored on the users devices. But it isn't. It's on Discord's servers.
- jaywalk 6y agoThat doesn't change the fact that they still also belong to someone else who may very well want to keep them.
- Spivak 6y agoOr another way of saying this is that the optimization of only storing one copy of each message doesn't change user-visible semantics of each user having their own copy of their messages. But I thought Discord, somewhat controversially, did actually let one person delete messages from all parties. Maybe they eventually caved because it enabled abuses/harassers to deprive their victims of evidence.
- johnisgood 6y agoYou can still delete your messages on Discord, be it in a DM (direct message), or in a channel. You can even edit them, and there is no edit history. Although administrators can take away your right to even see the existence of a channel, which means that you no longer can delete your messages in that channel, since you have to see the messages to be able to delete them. For the record: if you have the permissions, you can delete anyone's messages in a channel. Similar issues can arise in direct messages, for example if you closed the DM, and say, you left all mutual servers, and you unfriended your friend (without blocking), and the person changed his or her name so you are no longer able to add him or her back. When you add someone, that person will appear in "Pending" friends after having added, so you can click on "Message" to open the DM. Without that, you cannot open the DM, which again means that you cannot see the messages, thus you cannot delete them. I put "without blocking" in parentheses, because if you block someone, they will appear in "Blocked" friends, and it keeps track of changes in their name or even ID (that they are able to change with Discord Nitro), and you can open a DM easily from there. To open up the DM, you right click on the name, then click on "Message" which you can only do if 1) the person is in the same server you are, 2) the person is your friend, 3) the person is in "Pending" friends, or 4) if the person is in "Blocked" friends. Alternatively, if you lose access to your account through losing your password, getting your account disabled, or removed by you or Discord. In this case, too, you lose the ability to delete your messages. To bulk delete your messages, you can use https://github.com/victornpb/deleteDiscordMessages https://github.com/victornpb/deleteDiscordMessages. If you have sent 100k messages, then it could take hours for your messages to get deleted due to rate-limiting. This script does nothing more than what you can already do manually; delete the messages you can see. --- TL;DR: You can delete (and edit) your own messages on Discord as long as you can see them (have access to them), and you can delete other people's messages from channels if you have the right permissions.