4 ms·
Bit off topic: how is it legal to call their product cheese when it’s not actual cheese?
by bzb6 6y ago
Bit off topic: how is it legal to call their product cheese when it’s not actual cheese?
- wes-k 6y agoSee plant based milk, mayo, egg, meat, butter, etc. Also no one is ever upset about peanut butter which isn't butter! And it depends on your definition. It is cultured like cheese and plays a similar role in cuisine. Also, no plant based product is ever trying to trick or disguise itself. Their entire market is based around people knowing it is plant based. Yeti's homepage has in big bold text right at the top "Real cheese, made from plants"... you could argue "real cheese" and "made from plants" is an oxymoron but my point is, no one buying the product is going to be confused.
- shafyy 6y agoThe law is fuzzy and different from country to country, even within the EU. In general, it needs to be clear to customers when they make the buying decision that it's not dairy-based cheese. So, on the product page and on the product packaging we need to call it "cheese alternative". But those laws are stupid and pushed by the dairy and meat lobbies. To every sane person, it's clear within 1 sec that this is a plant-based cheese without animal milk.