3 ms·
I'll add that even many non-dairy milks are fortified with Vitamin D - check the label.
by dashundchen 6y ago
I'll add that even many non-dairy milks are fortified with Vitamin D - check the label.
- elric 6y agoThe way I understand it is that drinks fortified with Vit D are nearly always fortified with D2, whereas the consensus seems to be that D3 is the way to go. Not sure whether that's because D3 is less stable in drinks, or maybe there's another reason to prefer D2 there?
- ben_w 6y agoAccording to this article D3 is never vegan: https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/vitamin-d2-vs-d3#TOC_TITLE_HDR_3 https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/vitamin-d2-vs-d3#TOC_TI... I believe “being vegan” is the point of most milk substitutes.
- fujiters 6y agoFair point, but D3 can also be derived from lichen, which is vegan. https://www.vegansociety.com/resources/nutrition-and-health/nutrients/vitamin-d https://www.vegansociety.com/resources/nutrition-and-health/...
- elric 6y agoCow's milk is also commonly fortified with D2. I'm guessing the vegan argument likely isn't the only reason.