4 ms·
A few years ago I lost several GBs (thousands of rendered images) when I stopped a long move action midway. I tried to resume the process by just repeating the
by glenneroo 6y ago
A few years ago I lost several GBs (thousands of rendered images) when I stopped a long move action midway. I tried to resume the process by just repeating the directory move, unsuspectingly expecting that the existing files in the destination directory would be left alone and new files just would be appended, ala Windows (since at least 95). I was unpleasantly surprised to learn that on OSX "Warning: This action will overwrite existing directory" means the destination directory will be wiped out prior to starting the move.
Talking to other Mac users, this seems to be common knowledge - I guess only Windows users moving to OSX should be wary.
- ScottFree 6y ago> Talking to other Mac users, this seems to be common knowledge - I guess only Windows users moving to OSX should be wary. It's common knowledge because very single Mac OS X user has lost data due to this bug that Apple has refused to fix for years.
- glenneroo 6y agoIs it actually considered a bug? I have heard from other Mac users that it's just normal, expected functionality, as if there weren't any other way.