4 ms·
If I understand correctly, it's up to every infected person to manually click "upload" (edit: here was "who I was close to", but it's not correct, see note 1 he
by acqq 7y ago
If I understand correctly, it's up to every infected person to manually click "upload" (edit: here was "who I was close to", but it's not correct, see note 1 here) once he gets diagnosed, i.e. completely voluntary.
That is so that once one is diagnosed others can check if they were close to that one (and when?). And even these lists aren't supposed to be any typical metadata but something that stays local and the third parties can't reconstruct.
The idea is, again if I understood, that those who remain negative never have to upload anything that gives any traceable information about them.
See my other post here with other relevant quotes from the specification.
----
Edit:
1) Actually what is uploaded is: "the Daily Tracing Keys for days where the user could have been affected"
"Upon a positive test of a user for COVID-19, their Diagnosis Keys and associated DayNumbers are
uploaded to the Diagnosis Server. A Diagnosis Server is a server that aggregates the Diagnosis Keys
from the users who tested positive and distributes them to all the user clients who are using contact
tracing."
The matching is done locally on every device:
"In order to identify any exposures, each client frequently fetches the list of Diagnosis Keys. Since
Diagnosis Keys are sets of Daily Tracing Keys with their associated Day Numbers, each of the clients
are able to re-derive the sequence of Rolling Proximity Identifiers that were advertised over Bluetooth
from the users who tested positive. In order to do so, they use each of the Diagnosis Keys with the
function defined to derive the Rolling Proximity Identifier. For each of the derived identifiers, they
match it against the sequence they have found through Bluetooth scanning."
- tinus_hn 7y agoYou can’t upload who you were close to because you only have a set of pieces of data that can’t be traced back to people without their key. Only if infected, you upload your key to the server which distributes it to the others who can then tell if they’ve been close to you.
- acqq 7y ago> Only if infected, you upload your key to the server You are more right than I was initially, thanks! Actually, to be even more precise: only if infected, you upload the set of your own derived keys, and apparently only for the days you could have transmitted the virus to other people. From the documentation: "Upon a user testing positive, the Daily Tracing Keys for days where the user could have been affected are derived on the device from the Tracing Key. We refer to that subset of keys as the Diagnosis Keys. If a user remains healthy and never tests positive, these Daily Tracing Keys never leave the device."
- throwaway2429 7y agoAs I read it, the specification doesn't enforce whether upload is voluntary. local custom and laws can be implemented to vary degrees of freedom on this aspect.