4 ms·
I was diagnosed with Celiac in 2007, and even in the last 10 years there's been a huge expansion in the US of what's commercially available. But, I think the t
by jlangemeier 7y ago
I was diagnosed with Celiac in 2007, and even in the last 10 years there's been a huge expansion in the US of what's commercially available.
But, I think the thing that has helped me the most is learning how to bake. Home made breads will consistantly beat the pants off of most commercial ones; the only problem you may find in Lithuania is availability of gluten free "cup for cup" baking flours, but if you can't find them readily, you can substitute most flours by weight into a standard recipe.
Some notes on gf flours, you will never get the rise you would out of bread flours because they're missing the biggest ingredient for rise, gluten. But you can get pretty darn close with your own sourdough mother made out of a mix of other flours. My usual mix includes some combination of:
- white rice flour
- brown rice flour
- tapioca starch
- almond or teff flour
- xanthan gum, guar gum, or amaranth gum as the gluten substitute
- powdered egg whites also as gluten substitute
You're going to need to experiment, but getting a good all purpose mix will make a night and day difference in the gluten free life.
As for countries that are "better" for gluten free, I would hazard a guess that many asian countries are going to be better just due to their lack of reliance on gluten heavy grains as dietary staples. And lastly, you're going to have to get used to not eating out as much, and being very deliberate about it no matter where you live.
- kinggrowler 7y agoThe problem with a lot of Asian cooking is many dishes use soy sauce, which is made with wheat. I get a huge reaction to some dishes! I'm still devasted I can't eat my favorite foods at the local Szechuan place...
- mikekchar 7y agoTraditional Japanese shoyu is made with soybeans only. Tamari is made with wheat. It incredibly unfortunate, then that Kikkomen, when it tried to distinguish its naturally brewed soy sauce from the hydrolysed soy protein on the market, decided to call its shoyu "tamari" in the US (and various other places). It's gotten so bad that "tamari" is often the one that doesn't have wheat in it abroad. However, at least for home cooking, if you buy a decent Japanese shoyu, it will definitely not have wheat.
- Bheliar 7y agoAt least here in Germany there is a Kikkomen soy sauce specifically labeled as gluten free. Although of course the label does not mean that it does not contain wheat.