4 ms·
Oh wow, they just disabled it while I was reading some comments. It's no longer working, I'm now getting redirected to nsa.gov Edit: This seems to have been on
by phlhar 7y ago
Oh wow, they just disabled it while I was reading some comments. It's no longer working, I'm now getting redirected to nsa.gov
Edit: This seems to have been online since 2018, see https://web.archive.org/web/20181206224407/http://captcha.nsa.gov/ https://web.archive.org/web/20181206224407/http://captcha.ns....
- basilamer 7y agoAs someone very confused as to what people are commenting about, thank you. I'm clearly just seeing the post-patch version
- casefields 7y agoBefore they fixed it, it redirected to Googles homepage in Portuguese.
- dahfizz 7y agoIt wasn't a redirect. They served a Google homepage, but it was still an nsa.gov url
- mirimir 7y agoHere: https://web.archive.org/web/20200203154312/https://captcha.nsa.gov/ https://web.archive.org/web/20200203154312/https://captcha.n...
- a012 7y agoI still see a Google homepage
- dannyw 7y agoThat's what it was. The NSA was reverse proxying Google. The legit explanation (given the domain name) is probably they wanted to use reCAPTCHA, but block all non-NSA hosts with a firewall or something. This is not great, because the NSA expanded its attack surface to all of google.com. The more conspiracy explanation is that this is actually a phishing page set up, and due to a misconfiguration it's exposed under captcha.nsa.gov, but Occam's Razor should apply here.
- mirimir 7y agoAs far as I can tell, it's what you'd see hitting https://www.google.com.br/ https://www.google.com.br/ from Brasil, but in English.
- littlestymaar 7y agoI think you meant “Hanlon's razor”[1]. [1]: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanlon%27s_razor https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hanlon%27s_razor
- tsukurimashou 7y agoHahaha, I don't think they were expecting all that traffic from this being posted on HN