3 ms·
Being a vegetarian means eating plants and plant-based foods and dairy. Many vegetarians eat eggs but many others don't. In India, folks that don't eat eggs (bu
by youeseh 7y ago
Being a vegetarian means eating plants and plant-based foods and dairy. Many vegetarians eat eggs but many others don't. In India, folks that don't eat eggs (but do eat dairy, go figure) call themselves "pure" vegetarians, and the folks that eat eggs are often called "eggiterians". But, in general, pure-vegetarians and eggiterians are considered to be vegetarians.
Thats pretty much it. Additions or subtractions from the above diet results in a different label (vegans, pescatarians, omnivores, buggyterians? etc.).
- cannonedhamster 7y agoI'm pretty sure bugs are covered under omnivores and carnivores which is plainly what pescatarians are as well. You've given a really good definition, though I admit, I've never heard of eggitarians, sounds like a delightfully British term. I've always heard egg only called ovo-vegetarian, milk only as lacto-vegetarian and missed vegetarians as lacto-ovo vegetarian. Pescatarians just want to feel better about themselves by saying that they only eat one type of meat, which to me isn't really an argument against calling them omnivores if it makes them feel better I don't really see the harm though. For an extreme example you wouldn't say a thief isn't a criminal if they only committed thievery. It's covered by the original term it's busy a more specific form of that term, it's just odd to me.