3 ms·
Yes, this pauses sync when you sign out of Gmail.
by plttn 8y ago
Yes, this pauses sync when you sign out of Gmail.
- jiggunjer 8y agoNo. Pauses sync but doesn't sign out Chrome. So a person could still see your history/bookmarks/passwords in the logged-in browser. They just can't wipe your cloud data (which I think was the same before this update).
- md_ 8y agoYou mean they can see local history? Sure, but that’s true in most browsers. That’s nothing to do with your signed in state, right?
- jiggunjer 8y agoYes I was thinking about chrome profiles. My mistake. But from what I remember, when you choose to log out, Chrome prompts you if you want to wipe your local data. So logging out locally allows you to protect some data. I think there was a way to log out remotely (tricky/weird way), though again without the local-wipe prompt. I also just tried signing in to chrome (69.0.3497.100), and it tried to sync immediately again, so I'm not sure where the "sync is optional" idea comes from?