4 ms·
I'm not trying to defend Facebook, but I used the 14-day deletion and it worked for me. Just saying that there must be more to this story than just "I did it an
by vcanales 9y ago
I'm not trying to defend Facebook, but I used the 14-day deletion and it worked for me. Just saying that there must be more to this story than just "I did it and Facebook lied to me".
- Kequc 9y agoI deleted my account there 10 years ago, about a year ago I needed an account to join a memorial group for someone. Facebook somehow knew that the email address I used to sign up with, which was new, was related to my old email address and tried to link my new account to my old data which was still there. It also still knew a heck of a lot about me including suggestions for people I had just recently met. And some of them I only met once, in passing, never exchanged info with, and never saw again.
- omnimus 9y agoThis is most disturbing. I remember big change in facebook policy on 1.1. 2015 that would mean that deleting your account would not delete data they had on you. Up to that point their policy was that after you delete, data about you is erased (at least in europe). I did delete the account before that date with few other people (mostly because of that policy coming). I never tried coming back but if they still kept all the data, that is pretty substantional. One could sue facebook for that or am i missimg something?
- Kequc 9y agoBefore I left I used a tool that would delete all of my posts and content and stuff like that. Cleaned up the profile as best I could. The type of data they had was more about who they thought I knew, how desperately single I am stuff like that. Given how many privacy related scandals they have had I don't think suing them is going to do anything.
- modeless 9y agoIt's likely that at the time they deleted their account (unspecified "long ago"), Facebook either did not have a guarantee of deletion of all data, or this person did not follow the process that would delete all data and are misremembering how they deleted their account. They are simply looking at the current documentation and thinking "oh yeah, I must have done that, and these guarantees were supposed to apply", when of course that isn't true if those guarantees are new, or if they never followed that procedure in the first place.