3 ms·
None of the other replies have mentioned Hare Krishnas (an offshoot of Hinduism). They are vegetarian: not only do they not eat meat but they also avoid eggs –
by Anthony-G 9y ago
None of the other replies have mentioned Hare Krishnas (an offshoot of Hinduism). They are vegetarian: not only do they not eat meat but they also avoid eggs – though dairy products are seemingly alright. They distribute vegetarian food to the homeless and have a number of vegetarian restaurants around the world (mostly branded as Govinda's). As a vegetarian for 20 years or so, I tried their restaurants a number of times but the lack of onions or garlic put me off their food.
At the time, I asked them about this and the reply was that onions and garlic are considered to be stimulants and spiritually bad for you. The following article further elaborates on this explanation (best consumed with a pinch of salt): http://www.krishna.com/domains/d6.krishna.com/why-no-garlic-or-onions http://www.krishna.com/domains/d6.krishna.com/why-no-garlic-...