3 ms·
I'm as willing as the next guy to dump on Uber, but in this case Apple didn't leave them many options. If they chose "while in use" then a ton of functionality
by natch 9y ago
I'm as willing as the next guy to dump on Uber, but in this case Apple didn't leave them many options.
If they chose "while in use" then a ton of functionality would never be possible for any user whatsoever... because the only options they had were, to coin some temporary terms:
Option A: "All or nothing with behavior 1 (while app is in use only)"
or
Option B: "All or nothing with behavior 2 (always use location whether app is in use or not)"
If they chose option A, their app would be a lot less useful.
If they chose option B, they piss off some people who think they should have offered option A. But Apple would not allow them to offer both option A and option B.
Now, with this upcoming change in iOS 11, Apple will allow them to offer both options, if they choose to.
- seanp2k2 9y agoSorry, what functionality do I need from a ride sharing app while I'm not using it to hail a ride, wait for a ride, or while on a ride? Given Uber's infamous "hustle" and some of their other software hijinks, I very much doubt that their intentions in this decision were for the benefit of their users. I'd further wager that they use this info to e.g. Track when an Uber user takes a Lyft or competing ride service ride. I don't personally have evidence of this occurring, but given e.g. https://m.slashdot.org/story/324911 https://m.slashdot.org/story/324911 and that it's technically possible, I would assume that they're doing it.
- natch 9y agoWhile you're walking to where your ride will pick you up you can be, for example, checking your email, and your location will update as you move. Of course you could stand in a fixed position and keep perfect discipline about staying in the Uber app instead, but that's a very inflexible user experience.
- CardenB 9y agoThis is not true. Apple has had the "only while using" option available to developers for some time. Now Apple is just allowing the user to have that option even when developers didn't explicitly enable it.