4 ms·
It's not necessary to uninstall the app after each use to prevent tracking - in Settings...Privacy...Location Services, you can disable location on a per-app ba
by steffan 9y ago
It's not necessary to uninstall the app after each use to prevent tracking - in Settings...Privacy...Location Services, you can disable location on a per-app basis.
(this is admittedly a pain, and Apple enforcing in-use-only option availability is a welcome change)
- technofiend 9y agoUsually these snoopy apps refuse to run unless you enable it first. So you still have to remember to turn it back off when you're done.
- eridius 9y agoThat's what the "Only While Using" option is all about. In iOS 10 (and earlier), apps could choose to request location tracking "Only While Using" or to request it "Always". Uber switched from the former to the latter. And the article you're commenting on is all about how iOS 11 will add "Only While Using" back as an option for all apps, so you can set it that way even though Uber doesn't want you to.
- technofiend 9y agoAppreciate the explanation.
- tinus_hn 9y agoIt is not allowed for apps to refuse to run without location permissions. If you do that the app will be rejected. So no, 'usually' apps do not do that. iOS is not Android.
- technofiend 9y agoHmm, good point. Thanks for drawing the distinction.