3 ms·
I don't understand your logic. Facts matter. Either you have the data on your laptop or you don't. If it's been removed, you don't. Yes, they can ask you if
by late2part 9y ago
I don't understand your logic. Facts matter. Either you have the data on your laptop or you don't. If it's been removed, you don't.
Yes, they can ask you if you've deleted things, or if you have things elsewhere, but that's not generally what they ask or look for, or the issue at hand.
- rosser 9y agoThe data is still on the device. Only the password "vaults" have been wiped, obscuring the presence of the data and removing its access. Look, you can twist the words however you want. At the end of the day, if a CBP agent or Federal prosecutor clues to the fact that you're using this functionality, their interpretation is almost certainly going to be "'late2part is hiding something!", and they will bring their (considerable) powers to bear in response to that, in order to figure out what that is. Your indignation about or lack of understanding of that reality aren't going to change it.
- AlexandrB 9y agoThe vaults are the data. I'm not sure what data besides the vaults you're referring to that's still on the device. The fact that the data is still on a server somewhere is irrelevant for searching the device. However if they ask to login to your 1Password account that's a different matter.
- rosser 9y agoDoes "travel mode" remove all the cookies, local storage, and any other indications that you're a user of the site(s) in the removed vault? Remember: if you're this far down the rabbit hole at immigration, the machine is out of your bag, open, and unlocked. They can take it, while in this state, and image it. If there is evidence that you've been even unintentionally untruthful with the CBP folks, you're screwed. Not only have you lied, but you may have handed over evidence of obstruction of justice/tampering with evidence. Federal charges like that stack up quickly. If they want to fuck with you, they will.
- fryguy 9y agoI would say this is more like a local git repository than what you said. When you add passwords to a vault, then it gets saved to your local copy and then synced to the server. When changes are made elsewhere, it downloads the changes and syncs your local repository. Now "travel mode" simply removes the local git repository. The data still exists in the cloud, but you have to actively go out and log in to their service to retrieve it. Are you "hiding something" because you deleted a local copy of something from your device? There isn't something on your device that is somehow hidden. It's not there.
- deleted 9y ago[deleted]