5 ms·
Kodi Domain Seized by ICE – Homeland Security Investigations
- pr0ph3t 10y agoApril Fools'
- naglis 10y agoHeh, got me good.
- thehodge 10y agoand so it begins, the April fools jokes I mean (and also the further crack down on pirated consumption)
- tracker1 10y agoI hope that this is an April fools joke... I'm not sure that it's even funny in any light.
- hartator 10y agoI don't want to be this guy, but it doesn't look like an April fool joke to me. ICE does seize domains for counterfeit merchandiss. [1] Also Kodi has done a lot of job to distance itself from things like that by being a non-profit foundation, being open-source, not furnishing any pirated content directly on their site, etc. [2] It will be very odd way to communicate like this for a project that seems to aim maintaining a low profile a top priority. [1] https://www.ice.gov/news/releases/ice-international-law-enforcement-agencies-seize-706-domain-names-selling-counterfeit https://www.ice.gov/news/releases/ice-international-law-enfo... [2] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kodi_(software) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kodi_(software)
- nthitz 10y agoLooking at the page source code you see a google analytics tracker of `UA-3066672-1`. Quick google search shows that that ID has been associated with Kodi for some time. Probably unlikely that ICE would retain the original analytics code.
- zbuttram 10y agoLooks like it might be injected by CloudFlare though, judging by the rest of the `<head>`. Does ICE change DNS for seizures?
- SippinLean 10y agoThere was originally a rickroll link in the text
- arma26 10y agoapril fools domain: kodi.tv reg_created: 2014-05-29 19:59:29 expires: 2019-05-29 19:59:29 created: 2014-05-29 21:59:29 changed: 2016-02-17 17:16:34 transfer-prohibited: yes ns0: jo.ns.cloudflare.com ns1: toby.ns.cloudflare.com owner-c: nic-hdl: CF3454-GANDI owner-name: XBMC Foundation organisation: XBMC Foundation person: Team XBMC address: '340 S LEMON AVE #7222' zipcode: 91789 city: WALNUT state: California country: United States of America phone: +1.6784943762 fax: ~ email: email@contact.gandi.net lastupdated: 2015-08-07 16:02:15
- nom 10y agoWow, for an april fools joke they really went all in. None of their content is reachable - all that's left is the seizure notice. Now that's what I call dedication!