10 ms·
Is Zerigo (DNS provider) shutting down?
I've received an email (purportedly) from Zerigo, saying:
Dear Zerigo Customer,
Effective April 30, 2017, Zerigo DNS will shut down permanently. We thank you for your
business and apologize for this inconvenience.
If you are managing a public Web site or other Internet domain using Zerigo DNS, you must
migrate to an alternative DNS provider prior to April 30th, 2017 in order to prevent a DNS
error message from displaying when a user visits your website.
They go on to suggest migrating to Route 53. However, I can't find anything on their website, only a Reddit thread (https://www.reddit.com/r/sysadmin/comments/5nt8dh/zerigo_shutting_down_dns_service/). Does anyone have more information on this?
Edit to add: the email looks legitimate at first glance, and unlike the one on the Reddit thread does not come from "Rexx.com". It hasn't fallen into Gmail's spam box either.
- squid_ca 10y agoThere is a link in the email to "view this email as a web page" which redirects to a page on 8x8.com (the parent company of Zerigo), so I assume it's legit.
- limonys 10y agoYes, we had the same email today. Their support email address bounces right back. One to Sales didn't but I have v low expectations of getting a reply. Can't find anything on their site or 8x8...
- limonys 10y agoAh, hang on. The link to Amazon Route 53 is bogus...
- qes 10y agoJust got this email forwarded to me, and I also got the one from Rexx a while back. This one looks legit but those URL's in this email are a huge red flag.
- StuntPope 10y agoBummer. We (easyDNS) were pursuing the idea of acquiring Zerigo, I guess that isn't going to happen now.... https://www.easydns.com/blog/2017/03/14/our-efforts-to-acquire-zerigo-have-fallen-through/ https://www.easydns.com/blog/2017/03/14/our-efforts-to-acqui...
- Aphataeros 10y agoI just called Zerigo's support hotline, they confirmed that Zerigo is EOL with April 30th. 8x8 (Their parent company) wants to go into a different direction.