4 ms·
While on the subject of gustatory shenanigans, a few which irk me are: "Contains 100% juice" - This one is clever, and true, albeit that the product probably o
by eth0up 10y ago
While on the subject of gustatory shenanigans, a few which irk me are:
"Contains 100% juice" - This one is clever, and true, albeit that the product probably only contains 3% of actual 100% juice.
"Packed in x" - Packed in x, sure. But in smaller print, Product of y.
"Cholesterol Free" - Thanks. I was terribly worried that my non-animal product contained some despite it not being an animal.
"Made from: pure a" displayed prominently on front label, while ingredients read: b,c,d,e,f,...etc, etc.
"No added growth hormones" - Clearly there's little point anyway, in adding hormones to a chicken breast or hotdog.
- hueving 10y agoIIRC twizlers has a giant "fat free" statement on the front. Always bothers me when I see that in the store even though it's true.
- loopbit 10y agoRecently, a friend of mine gave me a box of tea that claimed to be: - fairtrade - organic - gluten free - suitable for vegans - kosher - halal Now, I like the first one (and maybe the second one), 3 and 4 are just what I would expect from a product that, according to its ingredients, is just tea leaves. I feel that 5 and 6 are simply taking the piss.
- ars 10y agoEh? Not all tea is kosher, especially flavored kinds, and those with more processing. So what's wrong with them telling you it's kosher? And there are non-gluten-free teas, they have barley malt, or roasted barley in them.
- lomnakkus 10y agoFor some reason (and not being very familiar with kosher law) I couldn't help thinking of shellfish-flavoured tea and wondering why anyone would ever want to drink that. Anyway, here's a little more information for anyone who's curious: http://www.learn-about-tea.com/kosher-tea.html http://www.learn-about-tea.com/kosher-tea.html
- ars 10y agoTea almost always is (or can be) kosher. However unless a Rabbi actually monitors the production you can't be sure. For example the same packaging line might have been used for something else that was not kosher. Or a flavoring might have a non kosher ingredient (or more likely, could be kosher, but manufactured on a line that also does non-kosher items).
- DanBC 10y agoSome flavoured teas contain butter fatty acids. These would be vegetarian, but not vegan, and they would be kosher dairy. https://www.bigelowtea.com/Special-Pages/Customer-Service/FAQs/Tea-and-Herbal-Tea-Ingredients/Are-your-teas-Vegan https://www.bigelowtea.com/Special-Pages/Customer-Service/FA...
- wpietri 10y agoFor my Celiac friends, the gluten-free mark is a big deal. They like not having to squint at the back of a box, read all the fine print, and then take a guess as to whether there was cross-contamination.