8 ms·
https://www.linkedin.com/company/jobsonic https://www.linkedin.com/company/jobsonic ?
by lemonghost 10y ago
https://www.linkedin.com/company/jobsonic https://www.linkedin.com/company/jobsonic ?
- gingerrr 10y ago"Jess" = Tess? Not even that much of a name change.
- dang 10y agohttps://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=12395442 https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=12395442
- mgkimsal 10y agojobsonic.com = expired squarespace site...
- lemonghost 10y agoOn crunchbase they are now wrkriot: http://www.wrkriot.com/team-1/ http://www.wrkriot.com/team-1/
- planteen 10y agoYep. Just looked at the Wrkriot Facebook page. Previous posts have the old name... and the Spongebob memes
- bArray 10y agoAlmost all the reviews are from people working there which I'm sure you're not supposed to do. It's dishonest at the very least.
- deleted 10y ago[deleted]
- seibelj 10y agoLanding page: > WrkRiot pulls signals from your resume and matches them to job posts. That's right, we do the searching for you. We'll be updating this section with videos, walk thru's and more. "walk thru's"? This website looks like garbage
- pyre 10y agoJust look at the blog too. I'm not sure who thought that a blog post entitled "10 WAYS TO SURVIVE AT WORK WITHOUT SLEEP" would be a hit with job seekers. (Not to mention that 100% of their blog content -- 7 posts -- was posted 3 days ago)
- kajecounterhack 10y agoThe content to it was horrendous. Just scanned the 10 points out of morbid curiosity, and the last one is "see a doctor."
- minusSeven 10y agoSeems like they think its normal to work tirelessly through out the day and night.
- adkshirsagar 10y ago10 WAYS TO SURVIVE AT WORK WITHOUT SLEEP: www.wrkriot.com/blog/2016/8/26/10-ways-to-survive-at-work-without-sleep Guess employees are the target audience for this post.
- bArray 10y ago"Isaac Choi" - I'm starting to imagine the lie was that he had a Chinese company scrub his name and he's not called Isaac or Michael. Having other people pay the cheques saves giving his name away too.
- MichaelBurge 10y agoHis real name is probably "Yi Suk Choi".
- bArray 10y agoAt this rate I wouldn't be surprised if it was "Mr Bean".
- mugejin 10y agoHow can you tell that this is probably his real name?
- bronson 10y agoPhonetically similar. It's one way to choose an English name.
- ChristopherE 10y agoIt is Yi Suk Choi, per the California corporation registration of 1for.one
- dang 10y agohttps://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=12395442 https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=12395442
- dimitar9 10y agothis is a South Korean name. And the author of this article is also Korean. That's why she mentions they use "second language" to mimic Chinese employees
- chenster 10y agoThe page now requires a password. The page cached by Google: http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:cMRXCIDiN04J:www.wrkriot.com/team-1/+&cd=4&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=tw http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:cMRXCID...
- hackaflocka 10y agowrkriot.com is a current squarespace site.
- bvanslyke 10y agoYep. Looks like it's now called "1for.one". Their CEO has a stock photo on LinkedIn and owned a mining corp.
- lemonghost 10y agoI think 1for.one is the old name, then they changed it to jobsonic and, more recently, to wrkriot.com.
- ramblenode 10y agoWow, the author's description "anti-SEO name" doesn't quite do these justice. "1for.one" is cringey but "wrkriot.com" is just straight VC repellent.
- ChristopherE 10y agoNot disputing you, but why is WrkRiot so repellent? It's unique and recognizable. I'll admit that "Riot" is just weird, but is that the main reason? (not trolling, I'm serious)
- ramblenode 10y agoThis is just pure opinion, but to me it is hard to read and unprofessional. It is certainly unique, but it doesn't project seriousness, which is what I want out of a job discovery service. Omitting the vowel just has the ring of a shady knockoff, scammer, or malware site that capitalizes on typos. Maybe I'm just not used to seeing the consonant string in trademarks or company names, but it strikes me as peculiar rather than creative or edgy. Second thought: this is a company which can't even manage to register "workriot.com". Even if "WrkRiot" is the brand, I would expect them to grab the domain with the more obvious spelling and have it redirect to wrkriot, but it turns out "workriot.com" is registered to a Finnish hosting provider sitting on the domain. So to recap: the domain with the more obvious alternate spelling of the company is (very likely) up for sale but they still haven't managed to acquire it. That does not engender much confidence in their marketing or management. Yes, I think I would pass on this venture.