4 ms·
If wine is just grapes, it must be vegan-compatible, right? But it isn't! Not only is wine sometimes made with products like nuts and milk, it can even be made
by jzwinck 11y ago
If wine is just grapes, it must be vegan-compatible, right? But it isn't!
Not only is wine sometimes made with products like nuts and milk, it can even be made using fish guts!
https://www.organicwine.com.au/what-makes-a-wine-vegan https://www.organicwine.com.au/what-makes-a-wine-vegan
A French wine maker told me this. I had no idea...these "extras" are not on the label.
- RodericDay 11y agoAlcohol producers have fought really really hard against nutrition labels on their products.
- deleted 11y ago[deleted]
- masklinn 11y ago> Not only is wine sometimes made with products like nuts and milk, it can even be made using fish guts! Wine is even made with people!
- wl 11y agoIf you're vegan for moral reasons, isinglass is a problem. If not, the isinglass falls out and isn't actually present in the finished wine in a significant quantity.
- xiaoma 11y agoWow! Do you know of any specific labels made using fish guts? This sounds interesting.
- chillacy 11y agoIt's not fish guts, but one of the fining agents used is made from chitin from shrimp: https://winemakermag.com/26-a-clearer-understanding-of-fining-agents https://winemakermag.com/26-a-clearer-understanding-of-finin...
- nsajko 11y agoIn that same article isinglass is listed as a fining agent, it is collagen from fish swim bladders.