4 ms·
The sweetener isn't part of the Coca-Cola formula (or more specifically, isn't part of the Coca-Cola concentrate). Coca-Cola provides unsweetened concentrate to
by brianmersenne 11y ago
The sweetener isn't part of the Coca-Cola formula (or more specifically, isn't part of the Coca-Cola concentrate). Coca-Cola provides unsweetened concentrate to independent bottlers, and the bottlers add high fructose corn syrup, sugar, or both during the bottling process. Some US Coca-Cola bottlers still only use sugar for sweetener.
- vonmoltke 11y agoNo, but the formula needs to be adjusted for different sweeteners in order to keep the same final flavor.
- ksherlock 11y agoAhh, that's interesting. I remember Coke (KO) bought out the US distribution/bottling from Coca Cola Enterprises (CCE) in 2010 but Wikipedia says 5-10% of US Coke is still bottled by a handful of independent bottlers. Allegedly, Kosher For Passover Coke (which should be available soon if not already) uses sugar.
- cbr 11y agoYes, Coke that's kosher for Passover can't contain grain, including corn, so they use sugar. Some history: http://time.com/3769657/coke-passover-kosher/ http://time.com/3769657/coke-passover-kosher/
- ashmud 11y agoAlso, so called Mexican Coke is made with sugar. Though not necessarily all Coke sold in Mexico. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mexican_Coke https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mexican_Coke